Kulbhushan Kharbanda

Though I have watched many of his films but as soon I see him or we take his name, I am reminded of film “अर्थ”
I have been an admirer of his work since. He is among my that list of artists whose work I check on wikipedia and can watch without asking anyone how did they like that movie. Kulbhushan Kharbanda a synonym to compelling influencing art who is what he is performing – an actor par excellence.

And then one day when you are looking at plays on Book my show, you come across his face & you immediately know that you need to go to watch him performing live on stage. In “Aatmkatha” a theatre play, he plays Rajadhyaksha, the writer.

I am generally not star struck but artists like him, Shabana Azmi, Naseeruddin Shah make me jump to the stage for autographs, to see them from near, touch them, talk to them & bring that tear of happiness in eyes to show how lucky I sometimes get.

After audience & I were done with applaud on the performances and artists started going backstage, I ask my friend “can’t we meet him?” and she is like “you wanna meet? Then what are you doing here? Go, run to the stage. I go to the stage asking her to take a picture with him. But by the time we reach, he’s already in green room. For once I thought we got late by a few seconds but we are asked to wait for a minute. And then the door is opened and Kulbhushan Kharbanda is standing in front of you – Humble & polite
I was awestruck. I tell him how much I admire his work in “Arth” and then in a bit of craziness I ask him if I can touch him (jaise shoone se unka kuch hunar mujh mein aa jayega :-p ), after all he’s a great artist… He bring forward both his hands and tap my hand in all humbleness. Then we take a picture with him. I jumped in happines. the joy & gratefulness show on my face, I believe 😊

My day is made 😊😊

Leave a Reply

